DIY Young Maleficent Costume, Wings, and Horns

Young Maleficent Costume TutorialI love Halloween because I get to let the costume designer out of the closet and run wild.  It’s great because my older daughter generally has some pretty interesting ideas for costumes.  This year, she wants to be a … (drumroll, please) … cat.  I know.  Big fat let down for me, too.  But my younger daughter is still a little too young to be choosing Halloween costumes, mostly because she doesn’t get what Halloween is, so I’m choosing.  Earlier in the year, we went to see Maleficent, and we all loved it.  The younger one kept running around, hopping on things, and shouting, “I’m Meficent!”  Now she says “Leficent.”  But that’s when I decided I would be the best mom ever and make her a young Maleficent costume.

I drafted a pattern based on one of her dresses, making the sleeves pretty wide like bells.  The skirt is just a wide tapered panel that I gathered.Bodice and sleeve pattern pieces

The part where I innovated was on the texture for the dress.  I cut out double of everything, one set out of an old men’s shirt (preserving the hems and buttons–who wants to do the finish work when you don’t have to?), and another set cut on the bias out of a patterned brown fabric.  I sewed the doubles together with long parallel lines about an inch apart, sewed the dress together, then cut the top patterned layer of fabric in between the lines of stitching.  I cut it on the bias so I could have these raw edges without excessing fraying.  I twisted the dress tightly to wrinkle the fabric.  I love the texture this technique created.Maleficent dress texture

The wing I designed to fold over and is the length of her armspan from fingertip to fingertip, attached at the back of the dress with a safety pin (elegant, I know) and with elastics at her wrists.  Make sure those elastics are pretty loose.Maleficent wing pattern piece

I lucked into a golden brown feather patterned fabric on clearance.  I recommend you do the same.  I gathered the wings where they meet between her shoulder blades just cuz.golden brown feather fabric wings

I’m impressed with myself already, but we’re not even done.  The horns are the pièce de résistance, and also the easiest and quickest.  A headband, foil, and electrical tape are all you need.  And of course, an eager almost-three-year-old. DSC_0030

I formed the horns out of foil. The tricky part is making them symmetrical, and for that, I recommend cutting two pieces of foil the same size every time you add more foil, and working the horns at the same time instead of making one, then trying to copy it.foil Maleficent horns

After I got the right twistiness and everything looked about right, I taped the horns to the headband, then added a little more foil around both the horns and headband to make the horns stable.attach foil Maleficent horns with electrical tape and more foil

Then I spiraled up and down with the electrical tape until the horns were completely covered, and they were done!Electrical tape Maleficent horns

The horns are surprisingly sturdy. I’m just worried about the headband breaking before she even gets to go trick-or-treating on Halloween because I can’t pry it off her.

About sappling

When God created the world, he did it in six days and rested on the seventh. I always wished there was just one more day in the week, an eighth day just for me to pursue the thoughts in my head and translate them to the physical world. There are only seven days, however, so I steal my creative moments in between being a mom and my work binding books and making boxes for clients all over New York City. I love working with my hands, learning new things, and I'm here to share those lessons with you. There are only seven days in a week. Why not eight? Guess I'll ask when I get there.
This entry was posted in Arts and Crafts, Fiber Arts, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DIY Young Maleficent Costume, Wings, and Horns

  1. Gabriele says:

    I Love reading about your creativity. This costume is fabulous. She is enchanting.

  2. Amy says:

    Just gorgeous, Sarah! What a lucky little girl 🙂

Leave a comment