Botanical Inklings: the letterpress coloring book printed on watercolor paper

Botanical InklingsI’ve been working on a great big giant very very large project that I’m finally ready to share with you!  I’ve been wanting to do a letterpress coloring book for ages, specifically on watercolor paper, because I don’t want to be limited to pencils and crayons when I color, and the paper in the coloring books you buy at the store is crap.  Some of the nicer ones are moving toward heavier paper, but you still can’t use wet mediums in them.

So I’m making the coloring book of my dreams from my own botanical illustrations.  If you follow me on Instagram, you’ll already know that I’ve been a bit obsessed with macrophotography lately, and my illustrations are inspired by the pictures I’ve taken.

In order to make the coloring book a reality, I need to raise money for the printing plates and paper, so I’m doing a Kickstarter.  Find out all about here, and then go tell all of your friends.  Every pin/post/tweet counts, but also identify some personal acquaintances that you think would be interested and send them a message.  Personal messages are way more effective than most pins/posts/tweets.

Thank you!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About sappling

When God created the world, he did it in six days and rested on the seventh. I always wished there was just one more day in the week, an eighth day just for me to pursue the thoughts in my head and translate them to the physical world. There are only seven days, however, so I steal my creative moments in between being a mom and my work binding books and making boxes for clients all over New York City. I love working with my hands, learning new things, and I'm here to share those lessons with you. There are only seven days in a week. Why not eight? Guess I'll ask when I get there.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment