Perfect No Wheat High Protein Buckwheat Buttermilk Pancakes

DSC_0019I don’t hate wheat.  I am suspicious of wheat, but I love buckwheat, which is not even a grain.  It’s actually related to rhubarb and sorrel, full of flavinoids, manganese, and magnesium; is linked to low LDL cholesterol and high HDL cholesterol; and has good quality, non-gluten proteins.  Read up about it on the World’s Healthiest Foods.

I have been perfecting this recipe for quite some time, and it’s too good not to share.  They’re everything pancakes should be, yet shockingly nutritious, high in protein and omega-3 fatty acids. This recipe has its origins in an herbivoracious recipe for buckwheat buttermilk pancakes.  If you can’t find roasted chickpea (garbanzo) flour, get the plain kind and roast it yourself.  It’s very easy to roast yourself on the stovetop-just stir it around in a dry pan (I prefer a cast iron skillet) until it browns to a nice caramel color.  Takes only a few minutes.  Don’t use the flour unroasted because it will taste a little sour.

  • 1 1/2 cups buckwheat flour
  • 1 1/2 cups roasted chickpea flour
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup hemp hearts
  • a handful of ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 cup walnut bits
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1  teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups buttermilk
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 4 eggs
  1. Mix everything dry together–I mean everything, even the walnuts.  You want the dry stuff evenly dispersed, but you don’t want to overmix.
  2. Mix everything wet together.
  3. Combine and mix just enough that there’s nothing dry left.
  4. Let sit for about 10 minutes to let the chia soak up the liquid and expand–this is the key to a nice moist but not doughy pancake.
  5. Warm up your griddle and coat it with just a bit of oil once it’s hot.
  6. Drop 1/4 cup fulls of batter on the griddle and flip when the edges start to look a little dry and a few bubbles have burst on the surface of the pancake.

Enjoy!  Serve with butter and jam, or as I like to, with peanut butter and syrup.  I know what you’re thinking, but like pineapples in lasagna, don’t knock it ’til you try it.

About sappling

When God created the world, he did it in six days and rested on the seventh. I always wished there was just one more day in the week, an eighth day just for me to pursue the thoughts in my head and translate them to the physical world. There are only seven days, however, so I steal my creative moments in between being a mom and my work binding books and making boxes for clients all over New York City. I love working with my hands, learning new things, and I'm here to share those lessons with you. There are only seven days in a week. Why not eight? Guess I'll ask when I get there.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Culinary Arts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Perfect No Wheat High Protein Buckwheat Buttermilk Pancakes

  1. LizzieMade says:

    These sound so tasty – all those nutty grains, nuts and the chickpea flour – yum!
    I wonder if I could make a dairy-free version, with something other than buttermilk – I’m not sure how to get them right, as the buttermilk helps pancakes rise. Might experiment…
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

