Crochet Kraft Paper Bag Basket

crochet neon and kraft paper basketI have a lot of shipping materials floating around my house because I do a lot of shipping, and I try to reuse whatever I can, whenever I can.  As a bookbinder, I’m very conscious of my carbon footprint–I use linen, cotton, and wool paper and try to go tree free wherever I can, but it’s not always possible, especially when the decision is in someone else’s hands.  I’ve been loving these baskets I’ve been spying on Pinterest (also here, and here), and having taken a workshop from Aimee Lee on shifu (Korean paper spinning), I put 1+1+1 together to make this:DSC_0104I used my ruler to rip long strips of packing paper the width of my ruler and then scrunched them in my fist; I didn’t actually spin them.

DSC_0003

I started crocheting using the magic circle method, making a round of six single crochet stitches.  For the second round, insert your hook into the first single crochet of the first round and draw up a loop.  Then lay two strips of scrunched paper between your hook and yarn tail, and yarn over over the strips of paper (yes, I do believe there should be two overs there).  Here’s a video showing what I mean (start watching at about four minutes to skip the preamble).DSC_0067

For this second round, you will chain two and single crochet twice in the top of every single stitch from the first round, leaving you with 12 chain  two spaces.  For each subsequent round, increasing six stitches/chain two spaces will keep it approximately flat.  DSC_0076

About six inches before the end of my strips of paper, I tore one off so I wouldn’t be adding two strips at the same time and my strips would overlap.DSC_0097When you think the bottom is big enough, decrease the number of increases or stop increasing altogether, depending on how steep you want the sides to be.
DSC_0081If you confine your increases to four equidistant spots, the basket will be somewhat squarish.  I did one circular basket with steep sides, and the other one, I made my increases on two opposite sides, resulting in a bit of an oval.
DSC_0105If you would like to purchase these darling book magnets you see in my basket, head over to my Etsy shop!

About sappling

When God created the world, he did it in six days and rested on the seventh. I always wished there was just one more day in the week, an eighth day just for me to pursue the thoughts in my head and translate them to the physical world. There are only seven days, however, so I steal my creative moments in between being a mom and my work binding books and making boxes for clients all over New York City. I love working with my hands, learning new things, and I'm here to share those lessons with you. There are only seven days in a week. Why not eight? Guess I'll ask when I get there.
This entry was posted in Arts and Crafts, Bookbinding, Crochet, Fiber Arts, Paper Arts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crochet Kraft Paper Bag Basket

  1. What a great idea! And your photographs are amazing. Thanks for posting the details.

    • sappling says:

      Thanks! I’ve been working hard on my photography skills. I don’t like to look at my early blog posts because I’m so much better now! On Sep 23, 2014 5:06 PM, “Why Not Eight” wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

