Just ‘Cause You Put Syrup on it, Don’t Make it Pancakes: Reduction Print

Image of pancakes poster

Just ’cause you put syrup on it, don’t make it pancakes.

It has been possibly forever since my last post–I moved from one side of the country to the exact opposite side; from one artist/hipster mecca to another; coast to coast, NYC to Seattle.  I have to say I didn’t really like NY from the get-go, and my feelings didn’t improve much over four years.  That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy my time there or hated everything about it.  I was very sad to leave on account of the friends I’d made at church and the Center for Book Arts.  But Seattle.  I’ve liked it since my first time coming, and I just like it even more every day.  Definitely more my speed.  However, I’m having a devilish time finding a place to print and bind.  It would’ve been easy had we moved to Seattle proper–there are tons of places in the city–but we moved to one of the islands across the Sound.  The are actually a lot of printers/binders/book artists on the island, I’m just having a hard time tracking them down since most of them don’t feel the need to have a website, and the ones who do don’t ever update the darn things.  People keep referring me to the phone book–PHONE BOOK!  Like I’ve used one of those in the last decade.  Well, I have a couple of promising leads, anyway, so I hope to be back to printing and binding soon.

In the meantime, I actually did get the next print in my farm series printed before leaving NY, and it is now up for sale in my Etsy shop.  This one is in homage to my current favorite TV show, Psych.  Anybody else stoked out of their minds that there’s going to be a Psych musical this December?  I might pee my pants.

Anyway, the quotation, “Just ’cause you put syrup on it, don’t make it pancakes,” is something Shawn says to Gus in season 6 (though he may be quoting Juice, a film I’ve never seen) that has just stuck with me as some good down-home wisdom, and my farm series needed a tall stack of pancakes.

It’s a two-color reduction print, just like the Hipster Cow, and doesn’t it look delicious?

About sappling

When God created the world, he did it in six days and rested on the seventh. I always wished there was just one more day in the week, an eighth day just for me to pursue the thoughts in my head and translate them to the physical world. There are only seven days, however, so I steal my creative moments in between being a mom and my work binding books and making boxes for clients all over New York City. I love working with my hands, learning new things, and I'm here to share those lessons with you. There are only seven days in a week. Why not eight? Guess I'll ask when I get there.
This entry was posted in Paper Arts, Printmaking, Visual Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

