Journal Writing for People Who Can’t Keep a Journal + a Bookbinding Tutorial

Double Pamphlets

The perfect journal.

So, the one and only New Year’s resolution I made this year is to write in my journal every day.  There are a million reasons to keep a journal or diary–studies show their psychological benefits, you may have children and you want to keep track of their development, maybe you’re a creative thinker and you want to record your inspiration, or you want a place to write down your personal prayers and revelations.  Whatever your reason is, there are no real arguments against keeping a journal.  If you’re anything like me, however, you have periods where you write tons and tons and tons, and then you have your years of famine.  I feel guilty for my years of famine because I do not remember at all what was going on with my family, with me spiritually, nothing, and I feel like I have an obligation to myself and to my children to keep a good record.  Hence the one and only resolution for 2013.  I figure if I only make one, I should be able to keep it…right?

Well, I know myself, and I know this is both as easy said as done, and easier said than done.  With that in mind, I am committing this blog to a series of posts on the sevens throughout the year–aka, the 7th, 17th, and 27 of each month I will post tips, tutorials, milestones, and encouragement for all you journal writers out there who share my woes.  Leave a comment if you’d like to be held accountable for your journal writing this year!

To kick the series off, here is a tutorial for a simple, handbound book similar to a pamphlet that is the ideal size for journal writers who find journal writing difficult.  Check back on the 17th to find out why!

About sappling

When God created the world, he did it in six days and rested on the seventh. I always wished there was just one more day in the week, an eighth day just for me to pursue the thoughts in my head and translate them to the physical world. There are only seven days, however, so I steal my creative moments in between being a mom and my work binding books and making boxes for clients all over New York City. I love working with my hands, learning new things, and I'm here to share those lessons with you. There are only seven days in a week. Why not eight? Guess I'll ask when I get there.
This entry was posted in Bookbinding, Journal Writing, Literary Arts, Paper Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Journal Writing for People Who Can’t Keep a Journal + a Bookbinding Tutorial

  1. dymphie says:

    nice how-to video, thanks! Love the double pamplets 🙂

  2. Amy says:

    Hi Sarah,

    I have the same one and only resolution, so I would love to be held accountable. I have been enjoying writing in a lovely book with a delicious pen, and I plan on going the distance this year – I think I have had the same resolution every year for the past 5 or so 🙂

    Happy New Year!

    Amy

  3. Amy says:

    Yes, can you believe I had the courage to start writing in it? I had to steel myself 🙂

  4. Cathy says:

    Pinned your video and you wanted to know what I thought of it… OH WOW! I LOVE IT!!! I like the narration, the music, how thorough you are, and the way you wrote everything down (reminds me of Napoleon Dynamite – a faveorite movie of mine). I love that its filmed in a quick speed. I love how you get right to the subject and start preparing and doing the project immediately. I will definitely watch again and I’m making one 🙂 I think you’ve made a blog follower out of me 🙂

    • sappling says:

      Thank you so much, I appreciate the feedback. It was my first video and I thought a lot about the best, cleanest, clearest, and most interesting way to present the information. I’m glad to know it was effective. Make sure you take pictures of your book when you make one and share it.

  5. fatmasplace says:

    thanks for this video. love the binding

  6. Beth says:

    Great video. Easy to follow with the written directions. I like how it is fast and to the point,

  7. zanpackard says:

    Love this tutorial – wondering if it would work for three signatures as well?

Leave a Reply

