Orange and Teal Exposed Spine

I recently (some time in the past year, that is) got my hands on some beautiful orange handmade paper and I knew I wanted to do something special with it.  I was listening to Bookbinding Now, a podcast hosted by Susan Mills, and Natalie Stopka was being interviewed.  I’ve admired Natalie’s work for quite some time–it’s truly spectacular–and she’s a lovely person to boot.  Anyway, after hearing her talk about the direction she’s taking her work in, I skipped on over to her blog for some visuals, and they did not disappoint.

Interlacing by Natalie Stopka

I read her post about how she used an interlacing stitch to butt up two pieces of cloth on the cover of a book, and she provided links to diagrams.  I knew in a moment this is what I wanted to do with my orange paper and I set about adapting it for use as a link stitch.  I sacrificed one piece and folded it into an accordion to practice on, and once I had it right, I stitched up the real deal.

I actually came up with several patterns that worked equally well, but for this book I settled on a pattern of large and small diamonds, and the result is really lovely:

Orange and teal book with an exposed spine and Armenian embroidery adapted link stitch

About sappling

When God created the world, he did it in six days and rested on the seventh. I always wished there was just one more day in the week, an eighth day just for me to pursue the thoughts in my head and translate them to the physical world. There are only seven days, however, so I steal my creative moments in between being a mom and my work binding books and making boxes for clients all over New York City. I love working with my hands, learning new things, and I'm here to share those lessons with you. There are only seven days in a week. Why not eight? Guess I'll ask when I get there.
This entry was posted in Bookbinding, Embroidery, Fiber Arts, Paper Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

