Photo Box with Divided Drawer

Box with divided drawer and cut out tray

As binder and boxmaker, I have to do a lot of problem solving to accommodate a client’s specifications.  For example, one particularly deep box housed many perfect-bound books which cumulatively had considerable swell in the spine. They needed to a wedge to prop up the foredge so the top would be level and they wouldn’t wiggle around in the box, and they also required a cut out to assist in lifting the books out of the box.

I’ve been thinking for a while about how to house other/additional items, so just as a problem solving exercise, I made this box to hold a stack of 4×6 photos with a divided drawer to hold bits and pieces of ephemera/mementos.

I wanted there to be a wall in the upper tray so the photos wouldn’t slide out when the box is opened, but I gave it a cut out to make it easier to lift the photos out of the box.

The walls are double thick with a slot on the inside for the upper tray to slide into, and the drawer pull is a ribbon glued into a slot in the bottom of the drawer.

Other than these little details, the box is constructed the same way as a basic clamshell box.

I’m pleased with how it turned out–it’s nice and sturdy.  The one thing I would do differently is make the dividers in the drawer and cloth thickness lower than the walls of the drawer because where the walls meet up, there are two layers of paper and there’s across them as I open and close the drawer, which means, eventually, that paper is going to wear off.

About sappling

When God created the world, he did it in six days and rested on the seventh. I always wished there was just one more day in the week, an eighth day just for me to pursue the thoughts in my head and translate them to the physical world. There are only seven days, however, so I steal my creative moments in between being a mom and my work binding books and making boxes for clients all over New York City. I love working with my hands, learning new things, and I'm here to share those lessons with you. There are only seven days in a week. Why not eight? Guess I'll ask when I get there.
This entry was posted in Arts and Crafts, Bookbinding, Boxmaking, Paper Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Photo Box with Divided Drawer

  1. Skilful,useful,beautiful!

  2. Nina says:

    Do you do tutorials?

    • sappling says:

      I haven’t, no. This sort of work is very difficult for most people to DIY properly. It’s possible, but the end result can be pretty sloppy, and cutting Davey board by hand is very bad for your wrists.

Leave a Reply

