Collagraph

My first collagraph

I made my first print ever last week (oops! last year–never published this post!)–it was a collagraph, which is where you take whatever you feel like and glue it to a substrate and run it through a printing press. I was taking a class at the Center for Book Arts taught by Maria Pisano.  I was amazed at the detail maintained in the process–but I think I like the plate better than the print (the picture of the plate has disappeared somewhere). The plate looks like an abstract illustration of the Nile, and blue just was not the right color for it (edit–> the color has grown on me since then).

Below are two collagraphs I didn’t do.  They were given to me by two others taking the class with me.  The first was done by Bill Gerhard and the second by Marguerite Ogden.

About sappling

When God created the world, he did it in six days and rested on the seventh. I always wished there was just one more day in the week, an eighth day just for me to pursue the thoughts in my head and translate them to the physical world. There are only seven days, however, so I steal my creative moments in between being a mom and my work binding books and making boxes for clients all over New York City. I love working with my hands, learning new things, and I'm here to share those lessons with you. There are only seven days in a week. Why not eight? Guess I'll ask when I get there.
This entry was posted in Paper Arts, Printmaking, Visual Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment