Coded Letterpress Calendar

I had some ideas I was bouncing around for letterpress calendars and I came up with some beautiful designs–and then I found out it would cost at least $240 for the polymer plates to print them.  Way out of my price range, especially considering how unlikely it would that I could sell any of them, let alone enough to recover the cost of printing them.  So . . . I used hand-set type!  I modified my designs to something very simple and modern.  Kind of crazy setting all those little numbers for the calendar, and I had to limit the number of calendars I printed to 15 because there wasn’t enough type to set all of the calendars at once–I could only do one at a time.  Thankfully, working the last year and a half at the Center for Book Arts sorting galleys and galleys of type once a week has made me very fast.  I sold several at the Center’s Holiday Fair this past Saturday, but I still have a few left so I’ve listed them in my Etsy shop.

The names of the months are hidden within the quirky little phrases I came up with.

About sappling

When God created the world, he did it in six days and rested on the seventh. I always wished there was just one more day in the week, an eighth day just for me to pursue the thoughts in my head and translate them to the physical world. There are only seven days, however, so I steal my creative moments in between being a mom and my work binding books and making boxes for clients all over New York City. I love working with my hands, learning new things, and I'm here to share those lessons with you. There are only seven days in a week. Why not eight? Guess I'll ask when I get there.
This entry was posted in Paper Arts, Printmaking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

