Beehive II

I gave up on linoleum for this–it just wouldn’t cooperate–I used a Staedtler Mastercarve block instead, which indeed does “cut like butter,” and my Speedball Linoleum Cutter Assortment.  You could also use Speedball Speedy-Carve Block, which I’ve used on other projects to equally great effect.

image

The carved rubber stamp

I got the really fine lines I wanted, but the downside is I can’t print it with a press. I haven’t been able to get the coverage I want in my proofs since I have to use craft stamp pads. My printing inks require more pressure than the carving block can handle.

image

Printed with stamping ink

I did give it a go with embossing powder, and the effect is much mire to my liking.

image

Printed with embossing powder

About sappling

When God created the world, he did it in six days and rested on the seventh. I always wished there was just one more day in the week, an eighth day just for me to pursue the thoughts in my head and translate them to the physical world. There are only seven days, however, so I steal my creative moments in between being a mom and my work binding books and making boxes for clients all over New York City. I love working with my hands, learning new things, and I'm here to share those lessons with you. There are only seven days in a week. Why not eight? Guess I'll ask when I get there.
This entry was posted in Paper Arts, Printmaking, Visual Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beehive II

  1. lestaret says:

    Give up on Lino? Please bon’t – you may need to get better tools, and remember to warm the lino before cutting as it is becomes much more pliable and les prone to tearing, especially in the details – you should persevere with lino, as once you get to know your stock and your tools, you can really push the medium. The other option is wood cutting, which at least would allow you to use a press.

    Lovely work.

  2. lestaret says:

    Sorry, please DON’T!

  3. lestaret says:

    In the winter, tuck it behind the radiator for a while, during the summer I tend to use a hot water bottle on top. This is a good technique when you are carving more than one block – warm one whilst you’re cutting the other! The warming makes the lino more pliable and less prone to tearing – nice smooth cuts. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

