Sharpies!

I went to Lady Jane Craft Center in Ozone Park the other day, just because it wasn’t Michael’s, JoAnn’s, or A. C. Moore’s, and I’m tired of chain stores.  They had a lot of very outdated craft supplies, and I wasn’t terribly impressed, but by the checkout they had these dollar bins, and in them I found these:

Sharpies!

Usually a set of rainbow sharpies is going to cost $18, $10 if you’re lucky, but these were $1!  I’d have been crazy not to buy them, and I’ve been going crazy with them ever since.  I’ve almost filled an entire sketchbook in the short time I’ve had them, just experimenting with the ways they can be used (I’ve never done anything in ink before).  I made these ladybugs that my daughter keeps begging for:

Ladybugs all dressed in red Strolling through the flowerbed.

And I also decided to illustrate Autumn, a poem from an earlier post:

Aspen trees

I don't dislike this picture, but I'm not sure that I like it in conjunction with the other pictures; I'm not sure the styles are the same.

I guess the scarecrow's a little creepy because my daughter was afraid of it when I showed it to her.

This picture took an uncomfortably large number of failed attempts to get it right.

I couldn’t think of a way to illustrate the organic bells line without drawing something nearly identical to the last picture.

About sappling

When God created the world, he did it in six days and rested on the seventh. I always wished there was just one more day in the week, an eighth day just for me to pursue the thoughts in my head and translate them to the physical world. There are only seven days, however, so I steal my creative moments in between being a mom and my work binding books and making boxes for clients all over New York City. I love working with my hands, learning new things, and I'm here to share those lessons with you. There are only seven days in a week. Why not eight? Guess I'll ask when I get there.
This entry was posted in Ink, Poetry, Visual Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sharpies!

  1. Ki says:

    Yeah. The wind one is a little to simple to feel like the companion to the others. . . but wind is a HARD sucker to illustrate. It’s a great little poem, and I like the stark style of the sharpies. Nice!

    • sappling says:

      I was thinking too cute, but you’re right; the wind is very simple. I wonder if the lines were wavier? With smaller details? Hmmm…I guess I’ve got some more experimenting to do (fingertips tapping together eagerly) 😉

Leave a Reply

