State of the Eight

There has been a serious dearth of posts going on around here, but lest you think I’ve given up on creativity, I’m going to give you a status update.  About 2.5 months ago, I gave birth to child number three

baby yawning

My little guy, just six days old.

(isn’t he so cute!) and discovered that three children is 10 times more work than two (blech).  I know the math doesn’t add up, but that’s convex non-linearity for you.  Basically, the sum is greater than the parts and I have NO TIME–and what would I do with that eighth day I so wish we had?  Sit around nursing a baby just like the other seven, that’s what.  The last couple of weeks I’ve managed to get the toddler and the infant to nap at the same time which gives me 1-2 hours to accomplish what I can.  Not a lot of time, but since I am incapable of NOT having one or a dozen different projects in the works, I have managed to squeeze some creative activities into my days.  However, since I have limited time, documenting those activities has suffered.  In an attempt to fix this, here’s an image dump of things I’ve been doing since my last post.  This isn’t even half of the projects I’ve been working on, but feel free to ask questions about anything you want more information on!

 

About sappling

When God created the world, he did it in six days and rested on the seventh. I always wished there was just one more day in the week, an eighth day just for me to pursue the thoughts in my head and translate them to the physical world. There are only seven days, however, so I steal my creative moments in between being a mom and my work binding books and making boxes for clients all over New York City. I love working with my hands, learning new things, and I'm here to share those lessons with you. There are only seven days in a week. Why not eight? Guess I'll ask when I get there.
This entry was posted in Arts and Crafts, Digital, Lettering, Letterpress, Paper Arts, Printmaking, Visual Arts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to State of the Eight

  1. quinnjacqueline says:

    Blimey you are posting and continuing all that work with a new baby? Have you counted the days in your personal week? I think that you must have been gifted eight after all, when the rest of us only have seven! Fantabulous work, art and babes…………

    • sappling says:

      I do think it’s miraculous that I get anything done at all, but with so little time, I find myself unusually focused. It’s like back in college when I’d leave a 10 page paper ’til the night before and be able to churn out some of my best work. I am sacrificing photographing everything and time on Pinterest. But I really should spend less time on Pinterest anyway. I’ve got enough inspiration to last me a lifetime.

  2. Amy says:

    Congratulations! He is darling :) Best creativity ever!

  3. Marci says:

    Good gravy you put me to shame. Adorable baby, amazing work, pretty sure you have a Wonder Woman outfit on under your long sleeves and pants.

    • sappling says:

      I’m just getting better at forcing myself to do things I might suck at, and then trying again when I do fail.

Leave a Reply

