Lunaria Annua or Happy Birthday to Me!

Lunaria annua, silver dollark plant, money plant, or honesty

Lunaria annua, silver dollark plant, money plant, or honesty

A few months ago I saw a dried silver dollar plant arrangement at our local grocery store.  I hadn’t seen them since I worked as a gardener in high school, and I’d forgotten all about them and how fascinating and lovely I thought they were.  I happened to be with my husband at the time, so I gushed to him about them.  Well, halfway through my birthday, my husband remembered it was my birthday ;) and ran over to the grocery store, coming back with two delicious varieties of chocolate ice cream and a bunch of dried silver dollars.  I was touched he actually listened and then remembered, and aren’t they so pretty!

Silver dollar seed pods

Silver dollar seed pods

The thing about silver dollar plants, or Lunaria annua, is that even though it’s pretty when it’s green, it’s breathtaking dried.  The plant is biennial, and the first year it’s pretty small, but it shoots up to 3-4 feet during it’s second spring and blossoms with pretty purple-pink flowers.  People like it because it’s unusual to see this sort of tall flowering plant in the spring, but I like because that second autumn when it starts to die, the flat, waxy green seed pods start to flake leaving this onion skin-like discs housing little seeds. I really like the pearlescent quality.

About sappling

When God created the world, he did it in six days and rested on the seventh. I always wished there was just one more day in the week, an eighth day just for me to pursue the thoughts in my head and translate them to the physical world. There are only seven days, however, so I steal my creative moments in between being a mom and my work binding books and making boxes for clients all over New York City. I love working with my hands, learning new things, and I'm here to share those lessons with you. There are only seven days in a week. Why not eight? Guess I'll ask when I get there.
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lunaria Annua or Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. Lestaret says:

    I love these too – they’re called ‘honesty’ where I’m from…

  2. Lestaret says:

    UK – yes! I think is called honesty because of its transparency, but I’m not certain!

Leave a Reply

