What’s this?

A big flat cardboard box

A big flat cardboard box

A cardboard box, you say? Not so!

Tada!  Beautiful colors.

Tada! Beautiful colors.

This is a fabulous shipment of oh so colorful paper!  I was so excited when I saw the UPS guy, I just about pounced on him.  No really, I’m pretty sure he thinks I’m crazy.  It’s just that I had to wait weeks, WEEKS, for this to arrive.  This is my first experience ordering paper without handling it first–just based off the descriptions on the website.  I was leary, let me tell you, especially when a person is used to a place like the paper department at New York Central Art Supply–thousands of papers to finger.  I did it anyway because this isn’t paper I’m using for a book or anything (gasp!), at least not in the traditional bookish sense, but for another project I’ve had on hold for a while because of the binding and printing I do.  Any guesses?  If you’d like a hint, go here to this Pinterest board.  Are you excited yet?  Because I know I am.

I may be as excited for the boxes the paper came in, as I am for the paper itself.  Just think, you have mondo (25″x35″) sheets of paper and a couple of kids entirely too fond of scissors. How do you protect your precious booty?  By squirreling it away under your bed of course.  At least now that I don’t have flat file drawers at the Center for Book Arts, that’s what I do.  But then what do you do when your husband shoves his computer under the bed when he’s ready to sleep?  It mushes up the paper and you may as well let the kids at it with scissors.  So these boxes are going to be very useful for protecting this new paper, as well as the paper I already have.

Stickers on paper! The nerve!

Stickers on paper! The nerve!

I do have one question for you–what kind of people put stickers on paper?!  I ordered this paper from paper people, people!  That sticker effectively wastes the top two inches of every tenth sheet of paper I ordered.  Don’t they get that?  I ask you.

About sappling

When God created the world, he did it in six days and rested on the seventh. I always wished there was just one more day in the week, an eighth day just for me to pursue the thoughts in my head and translate them to the physical world. There are only seven days, however, so I steal my creative moments in between being a mom and my work binding books and making boxes for clients all over New York City. I love working with my hands, learning new things, and I'm here to share those lessons with you. There are only seven days in a week. Why not eight? Guess I'll ask when I get there.
This entry was posted in Paper Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s this?

  1. O, O, O… I can feel your joy. Yes, now to find a good storing place. Life can be rough for us paper hoarders… ;o))

Leave a Reply

