Journal Writing for People Who Can’t Keep a Journal: The Power of JUST

Just is your new best friend.

Just is your new best friend.

You may or may not have noticed a long hiatus in my promised series of Journal Writing for People Who Can’t Keep a Journal.  I have lots of really good excuses, as do all of us among the journal-impaired.  Mostly I haven’t been journaling, so I feel a bit like a hypocrite preaching about how to effectively keep a journal.  I just moved to the other side of the country, all my books (including my journals) are in storage…. Great excuses, but we all know what those are like.  And again, we all know what it’s like to go a while without journaling.  You start storing up all the things you ought to be writing about, and pretty soon the task of recording everything you haven’t recorded becomes insurmountable.  Well today, I found my salvation in my inbox in the form of a Behance newsletter which I would normally delete without looking at, but the subject line caught my eye. The article that finally inspired me to get back to was Start Small: Why Tinkerers Get Things Done by Mark McGuinness.  Long story short, you start without starting.  You’re just going to jot down a few lines.

“I’ll just prime a canvas.”
“I’ll just play a few chords to warm up.”
“I’ll just write the characters’ names out.”
“I’ll just copy out the previous design.”
“I’ll just get the folder out of the filing cabinet.”

You remove your resistance by NOT doing this behemoth task, you’re just doing the first step.  Nothing else.  I’m not cooking dinner, I’m just chopping up vegetables, ets.  So here I go to just jot down a few words and to heck with “journalling.”

About sappling

When God created the world, he did it in six days and rested on the seventh. I always wished there was just one more day in the week, an eighth day just for me to pursue the thoughts in my head and translate them to the physical world. There are only seven days, however, so I steal my creative moments in between being a mom and my work binding books and making boxes for clients all over New York City. I love working with my hands, learning new things, and I'm here to share those lessons with you. There are only seven days in a week. Why not eight? Guess I'll ask when I get there.
This entry was posted in Journal Writing, Literary Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Journal Writing for People Who Can’t Keep a Journal: The Power of JUST

  1. Hah, found your blog and LOVE it… The just principle is wonderful. I will in fact today start with it. Just clean up my living room table. Where “stuff” is taking over… Thank you for writing your blog… I added you to my daily blog list. Grin. I just…

  2. Marci says:

    I keep telling myself this very thing, “Baby Steps.” Just get a little done. Thanks for the good reminder, I haven’t been journaling for awhile and I need to get started again.

  3. lynnegibb says:

    Thanks – I love this. I am definitely afflicted with “Bloggers Block” and ‘”Artististic Avoidance” but I will start today and just clean up the table in my study and maybe in a while the whole room will be pristine and set up into a beautiful studio where I can Blog or Art Journal to my heart’s content.

  4. Lynne Gibb says:

    Great blog. Very timely for me as I have just cleaned up my study. Now I have a place to start my journaling, I will just set out some mixed media materials and see what happens :)

Leave a Reply

