Long Stitch Binding, Crocheted Hemp Cover

I’ve been itching to try a nonstandard book cover and I cottoned on to the idea of hemp because it just has this great texture, so I crochet a long rectangle with a taper on one end and attached a stick I found in my backyard.  I didn’t want their to be visible tapes connecting the bookblock to the cover, so long stitch was really the only way to go.  You sew the bookblock directly onto the cover as if it were your tapes.  It’s a little hard to get the spacing right, but it looks great in the end:

You can barely see the stitches, which I like.

Detail of the closure

I love how it lies so perfectly flat.

About sappling

When God created the world, he did it in six days and rested on the seventh. I always wished there was just one more day in the week, an eighth day just for me to pursue the thoughts in my head and translate them to the physical world. There are only seven days, however, so I steal my creative moments in between being a mom and my work binding books and making boxes for clients all over New York City. I love working with my hands, learning new things, and I'm here to share those lessons with you. There are only seven days in a week. Why not eight? Guess I'll ask when I get there.
This entry was posted in Bookbinding, Crochet, Fiber Arts, Paper Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Long Stitch Binding, Crocheted Hemp Cover

  1. Sarah says:

    This is really pretty. :) I am just learning how to crochet, and I would love to learn different stitches.

  2. Just a note to let you know that I shared this idea on my crochet blog in a roundup of ideas for crocheting with hemp. It’s such a beautiful design!

    http://www.crochetconcupiscence.com/2012/07/delightful-hemp-crochet-designs/

  3. Siren says:

    Thats where i found it1 ^ Hehehe. Beautiful! So impressed! :D

Leave a Reply

